Acknowledgment of Treaty Six

Umer Law's Statement

Umer Law would like to acknowledge that we are on the traditional lands, referred to as Treaty 6 Territory and the homeland of Metis Region #4. The City of Edmonton and all the people here are beneficiaries of this peace and friendship treaty.

We are immigrants to Treaty 6 territory, and we acknowledge this land is home to many diverse groups of Indigenous peoples including the Cree, Nakota Sioux, Saulteaux (So-toe), Cree, Dene (De-nay), Blackfoot, Nakota Sioux (Sue), Inuit, and MΓ©tis "whose footsteps have marked these lands for centuries." We commit to continuous learning and unlearning in the spirit of reconciliation and anti-racist action.

Umer Law acknowledges the treaty, the land and the territories of Indigenous peoples as a reminder of:

  • Our duties and obligations to the land and Indigenous peoples,

  • Our accountability to address the ongoing repercussions of colonialism that are unique to Indigenous peoples and communities, and

  • To work together in remembering the Treaty's spirit and intent toward proper relations.

More information is available on the City of Edmonton's website, which is linked below: